Understanding SAFER notifications
SAFER provides email notifications for a variety of important scenarios:
Form Submission Receipts
- Sent only to the original submitter of the form, with a link to the submitted form for reference.
- Message is sent by Northwestern Online Forms on behalf of SAFER Admin.
Form Approval Requests
- Sent to the desired approver of the form, with a link to the submitted form to approve.
- Message is sent by the original submitter; the title of the email contains “SAFER – [Form Name Here].”
Completed Actions Receipts
- Messages sent by SAFER Admin
- Always sent to the original submitter of the form and the approver of the form.
- Also sent to relevant parties, depending on the nature of the form:
- If a Steward submitted the form, both Stewards are provided a receipt of the action(s) taken (in the case of a Replace a Steward Form, the Steward being replaced is notified in addition to the new and remaining Stewards).
- Directors are notified of Steward replacements, the creation of new Top-Level Folders, and the results of the Duplicate Collaborator Access Form.
- For the Duplicate Collaborator Access Form or the Remove Collaborator Access Form, Stewards are notified of modifications to access on folders for which they are Stewards.
- For the Remove Collaborator Access Form, the collaborator who is losing access is notified.
- For the Duplicate Collaborator Accesss Form, the supervisor of the recipient collaborator is notified of the recipient’s new access.
- For the Remove Collaborator Access Form, the supervisor of the removed collaborator is notified of the removal.
Form Rejection Notices
- When forms are rejected for any reason, the submitter is notified.
- The email is sent by Northwestern Online Forms. The title of the email contains "SAFER – [Form Name Here] Form Rejected.”
Folder Name Changes or Deletion Notices
- Sent to both Stewards when the names of SAFER folders are changed; the new folder names and paths are provided.
- Sent to both Stewards when SAFER folders are deleted.
Folder Move Notices
- Sent to both Stewards when a SAFER-registered or outside folder tree is moved into a SAFER-registered folder under their purview.
- If the folder tree being moved into the SAFER share has collaborators that are foreign to the Share, those collaborators are stripped to maintain the integrity of the Steward approval process.
- If collaborators are stripped, the notice also contains a CSV attachment that lists all the removed collaborators. This can be fed into the Import Bulk Changes Form to restore all of the collaborators back to the folder(s), but this time in accordance with the two-Steward approval process.